Pursuing Sproutcore on OSX 10.8.2 with XCODE 4.6

I’ve recently rekindled my interest in developing a web app.  Previously I had explored using blossom.js.  However, after some experience with it, I decided I was not ready to be that bleeding-edge.

So, off to research other options, I re-traced my steps.  SproutCore and Cappuccino both looked good.  Learning from my blossom experience, I decided to pursue SproutCore.  The Objective-J in Cappuccino is really attractive to me as an Objective-C developer. However, I am concerned that the download size for starting a cappuccino app (~ 4MB) will be a detriment in the end.  In addition, the group for Cappuccino does not have the support it used to, after the acquisition by Motorola.

So, I am now pursuing the development of an app using SproutCore.  I wanted to use the instructions at sproutcore.com for installation. (http://sproutcore.com/install_mac/) I have Ruby installed but not the right version, so I wanted to use RVM (Ruby Version Manager) to keep all this straight.

Using curl to fetch the RVM code failed; a certificate issue.  Switching to use curl -k to ignore the certificate issue showed that the SproutCore instructions are pointing to the wrong site).  Off to rvm.io to get the right stuff. I found instructions that helped at:  http://charles.lescampeurs.org/2012/06/17/installing-ruby-1-9-3-on-mac-os-x-lion-with-rvm

I used:

$ curl -L https://get.rvm.io | bash -s stable

As an OSX and iOS developer, I am current with the latest XCODE and OS versions (10.8.2 at the moment, and LLVM-based compilers from Apple).   But Ruby does not like the LLVM compiler, so I needed to get the non-LLVM GCC.    Off to osx-gcc-installer to get this installed.

Then, install ruby using:

$ CC=/usr/bin/gcc-4.2 rvm install 1.9.3
$ rvm use 1.9.3
$ gem install sproutcore

And finally, back to the SproutCore tutorial…

About cwoloszynski

Passionate about mobile application development integrated with cloud-based services
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

